Empty.

I can hear the echoes,

Of my own breath,

The storm, the chaos,

As humble as death,

Mercilessly quiet,

The world closing in on me,

And me, hiding in myself, deep.

Fighting within me, my own fight,

Under my skin, those shadows sweep.

But the fire is still burning,

A dynamic life lost but waiting.

That fire inside is all I have,

And so I helplessly cling to it,

Like to its mother, a little kid,

Filling the emptiness with the loner,

Wishing the ghosts left sooner,

That night be filled with the moon,

That life be blessed with rain,

That shadows let the fire win,

That the burning fire brings life within,

And save that last of my breath,

To be the last echo I hear,

To befriend my only fear,

To be finally set free,

With no more emptiness left within, but me.

 

Words From ©The Word Warrior

KashafS

Daily Prompt: Empty

3 thoughts on “Empty.

  1. Cezane & Michelle says:

    Loved it Kashaf, there is a sense of differential read whilst going through this,
    The imagery building it up on which you derived in your writing really got this to be quite a master piece! – Cezane

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

